List of Nuclear Power Plants in India

Here in this post is the list of operational Nuclear Power plants in India. The PDF of Nuclear Power Plants can be downloaded from the link is given at the end of this post. One question can be asked about the location of Nuclear Plants. You can read it once or twice before the exam. Question from this topic can be asked in SSC CGL, SSC CHSL, IBPS PO, IBPS RRB, IBPS Clerk, UPSC, RRB JE, RRB NTPC, UPSC, and another competitive exam.

Nuclear Power Plants in India

Nuclear power is the fifth-largest source of electricity in India after coal, gas, hydroelectricity and wind power.
As of March 2018, India has 22 nuclear reactors in operation in 7 nuclear power plants.

S No Nuclear Power Plants Name Location
1. Kaiga Generating Station (KGS) Kaiga, Karnataka
2. Kakrapar Atomic Power Station (KAPS) Kakrapur, Gujarat
3. Kudankulam Nuclear Power Plant (KKNPP) Kudankulam, Tamil Nadu
4. Madras/ Kalpakkam Atomic Power Station (MAPS) Kalpakkam, Tamil Nadu
5. Narora Atomic Power Station (NAPS) Narora, Urttar Pradesh
6. Rawatbhata Atomic Power Station (RAPS) Rawatbhata, Rajasthan
7. Tarapur Atomic Power Station (TAPS) Tarapur, Maharashtra

List of Nuclear Power Plants in India

  • Planned Plants
  • Active Plants

Nuclear power plants and reactors under construction in India

Power station State
Madras (Kalpakkam) Tamil Nadu
Kakrapar Unit 3 and 4 Gujarat
Gorakhpur Haryana
Rajasthan Unit 7 and 8 Rajasthan
Kudankulam Unit 3 and 4 Tamil Nadu

Click here to download the PDF file of the list of Nuclear plants in India.
For more questions click here

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *